Sunday Afternoon Coffee [Thirty-one]

Sunday 31 coffeeIf we were having coffee this afternoon, I would apologize for being a bit absent. I may be having too much fun outside lately and with friends here. Last week I didn’t turn on my computer for an entire week. A week. It means I am being a bit lazy with the interweb social life, but I am gonna be okay with that for now. I hope you are too!

If we were having coffee this afternoon, we would talk about 406 Day at the 406 Brewing Company. On of my oldest friends also lives here in Bozeman and we finally caught up for real coffee that morning and continued the merriment at the brewery’s celebration with free beer, music and babies at the brewery. To make it better, a new distillery has opened in the back, Wildrye. Shannon and I tried a couple drinks with beet rum that were delicious. And I love their graphics.

Sunday 31wild rye

Love the graphics

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you to check out this animation that was made to help people think about what, where and how design affects us every day. Maybe the AIA should take a hint. Yeah it’s bad.

Speaking of design, one of the first projects I worked on at Envi Design is finished. It was a quick little bar expansion and renovation out in Ruby Springs.  We are talking two months from start to finish. There were a few hiccups here and there, but it all came together and looks pretty good!

Top: Before Bottom: After

Top: Before Bottom: After

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you about the rather crazy trip home with my bosses husband.  Let me explain. He is an blacksmith and artist, so when he found out I grew up on a dairy, he got really excited about the potential piles of old metal junk lying around. They also happened to be taking down a bar that’s roof caved in during the crazy early October storm.  So he finally convince me to go home and take him with so long as we also brought back the few remaining things I left there. We drove his old beat up truck with no radio, okay air and the ability to barely go 65 at 7 miles per gallon. He and dad got along fabulously, as I suspected they might. We checked out the Vale bar, which isn’t nearly as fun as it was with the previous owners. I baked a lot of things with mom, rode the horse, and didn’t even watch TV or play with my computer. The time on the road wasn’t as bad as I thought it was gonna be, even though on the way back, when it was cold, we had to stop and dig up yukka plants. I was ready to be back in my little car with some zip the last half hour home though.

Top Right: Crow loving the ride out with the mountains behind here Left: New baby calf  Right: Me on a horse.  The Truck loaded up, and us trying to get the dogs to sit for a picture.  Bottom: Digging up some yukkas

Top Right: Crow loving the ride out with the mountains behind here
Left: New baby calf Right: Me on a horse.
The Truck loaded up, and us trying to get the dogs to sit for a picture.
Bottom: Digging up some yukkas

If we were having coffee this morning, we would talk about each other Easter’s. After a long night up in Big Sky, I spent the afternoon relaxing with some friends enjoying some mimosas in the sun. It was so nice. Earlier in the week, Dawn had some of us over for enchiladas and egg dying with her and her daughters, which is one of my favorite activities.

There were some causalities

There were some causalities

If we were having coffee this afternoon I tell you how our office and our office mates at Massive Studio, have been watching the demolition of the old Kenyon Noble across the street. It’s a LEED project, so they have been taking it apart bit by bit and crushing all the concrete. It’s almost finished. Many times in the past month or so, you could find us all staring out the window waiting for a big chunk to fall.

Sunday 31distructionIf we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that all my guy friends here are apparently sissies. Last Friday was Bobcat Fest on Main. They shut down part of Main Street, had free hot dogs (sausages really) and burgers, a band and free stuff was floating around. The sausage were provided by Red Neck Sausage. I was told that it was really spice and beware. It was nothing. Apparently they cannot handle their spice. Or I got a dud.

Sunday 31 BobcatIf we were having coffee this afternoon, I would ask you to help me make sure I keep my new plants alive. I picked up some ivy, succulents, and pansies. They are suppose to be pretty hardy. We’ll see if I can keep them alive for more than a month. We are going on three or four weeks now. That’s pretty good.

Sunday 31 plants

2 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon Coffee [Thirty-one]

  1. Pingback: Things collected in SD | Perishable Item

Comments are closed.