Orange Berry Waffles

OJ Berry waffles (2)The other morning I decided to whip up some waffles for breakfast. It’s been awhile since I have pulled out the waffle iron and it was time. I was going to make whole wheat ones, but then realized I didn’t have any whole wheat flour. I wasn’t going to run to the store for it. So instead I pulled out the good ol’ Betty Crocker Cookbook and found the waffle recipe.

The whole wheat recipe I have on file calls for orange juice, which I happened to have, so I decided to substitute some for the milk in my batch. I also added some frozen berries. I was worried it would be a total fail. But they were really good. The orange juice was much stronger than I expected it to be and went well with the berries. Give it a try. I think you will be pleased.

Orange Berry Waffles

4 to 6 servings

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup orange juice (use something good like Simply)
  • 1/2 melted butter
  • 1 cup berries (I used a mix of raspberries, blueberries and blackberries)
  1. Heat waffle iron. Spray with cooking spray if needed.
  2. In large bowl, beat eggs with wire whisk until fluffy. Beat in remaining ingredients except berries just until smooth. 
  3. Gently fold in berries with a spatula or large spoon.
  4. Pour about a 1/2 cup batter onto center of hot waffle iron. (My iron is just a two square one, your’s may require more batter) 
  5. Bake about 5 minutes or until steaming stops, follow your waffle irons instructions to make sure they are done.
  6. Carefully remove waffle and repeat with remaining batter.
  7. Serve with maple syrup if desired.

Enjoy!

