Sunday Afternoon Coffee [thrity-four]

IMG_0995If we were having coffee this afternoon, it would be during the US World Cup game, so let’s be honest, we’re not drinking coffee, we are drinking beer and occasionally yelling at the screen.

If we were having a beer this afternoon, I would tell you that I cannot get enough time outdoors. I love it. I rarely turn my computer on anymore. I’m not kidding. Typically a hike in the morning up the M replaces one of my workouts, if not two. On top of that, there is normally another hike after work or on Sunday evening. And I can get quick rides in on my bike easy. It was hard to get a 6 to 8 mile ride done in a half hour or so in NY because of traffic, here it’s easy. Maybe two stoplights. Maybe. Sometimes I end up hiking in the morning and going for a ride after work. It’s awesome.

Horseshoes and snowy peaks in the background

Horseshoes and snowy peaks in the background

Crossing the tracks on an early morning ride

Crossing the tracks on an early morning ride

Sunday evening hike up the M

Sunday evening hike up the M

If we were having a beer this afternoon, I would tell you that I went on my first camping trip of the year down by Quake Lake and in Yellowstone National Park last weekend. It was a bit cold, as usual, and it did rain at night, but we got in some spectacular hikes and saw some bison. And elk. And stupid tourist. More on that weekend later.

Looking out at Quake Lake

Looking out at Quake Lake

Cabin moved on Hebgen Lake during the earthquake.

Cabin moved on Hebgen Lake during the earthquake.

View across Yellowstone Lake

View across Yellowstone Lake

If we were having a beer this afternoon, I would tell you that it has been fun watching my friends play softball. Most of my guy friends play softball in the league here and only two play on the same team, so typically one night a week we head down the fields with a six pack and watch the games. As much as I do not care for baseball, this is fun.

Ben is holding down first

Ben is holding down first

If we were having a beer this morning, we would talk about the farmers markets that have started for the summer. I missed the first day of the large one at the fairgrounds that started yesterday, but the Bogert Park one is much bigger than I remember. There are many more stands, great spring food, including rhubarb and food trucks.

Bogert Farmers Market

Bogert Farmers Market

It may not look that good, but it is so good.

It may not look that good, but it is so good.

Speaking of rhubarb, I made my first torte of the season a couple weeks ago. I love this stuff. I also made a simple syrup (one cup honey, one cup water, one lb of rhubarb, cook it down and strain the rhubarb out, save it for ice cream topping, pancake topping, etc) that is delicious with sparkling water and tequila or bourbon. I’m sure we will experiment with it more.

10:20 PM on the Summer Solstice, June 21st

10:20 PM on the Summer Solstice, June 21st

If we were having a beer this afternoon, we would talk about the summer solstice this weekend. I love that I can still see the glow of the sun after 10PM. It’s amazing. Friday night I went with a friend to her friends 40th birthday party. I was the easily the youngest person there and one of maybe three under 37. It was pretty entertaining to watch people since I really didn’t know anyone. I have never seen so many people do keg stands. And I hung out at frat houses my freshman year of college. They tried to get me to do one, but having never done one before, I decided to keep it that way. They also had a tub of rainbow shots and a very grown up bar, something I look forward to in my old age. Not sure I will be doing keg stands at 40, but I hope I am having that much fun. After that we meet up with our friends for some live music in Belgrade before heading out to one of their shops near by for our own after party. We grilled up some amazing grilled cheese sandwiches, sat around the fire pit passing around pickle backs, and danced until 3:30 in the morning. We probably should have stayed up for the sunrise only an hour away.

Sunset on Friday night

Sunset on Friday night

40 yearolds lined up for the keg stand.

40 yearolds lined up for the keg stand.

Jell-O shots

Jell-O shots

If we were having a beer this morning, I would tell you that one of our office projects made the cover of Mountain Living! It’s pretty awesome. Hopefully, some of the projects I’m working on will have a similar fate!

Cover Shot!

Cover Shot!

 

