Sunday Afternoon Coffee [forty-four]

Sunday 44 (5)If we were having coffee this morning, I would tell you that I was sad, but not too surprised, to hear that Architecture for Humanity was filing for bankruptcy and closing. The good news is that the chapters will continue on with the mission of the organization. In New York, I spent several years volunteering for the local chapter, first as a project coordinator and then on the board of directors. When I moved and stepped down from the board, I knew I was leaving a great team behind that could handle anything and I am sure they will take this in stride and come out brilliantly. I wish all the chapters out there luck and great success.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I think we would talk about the crazy warm weather lately. It’s made it into the 50’s and sustained the low 40’s lately. This all just means all the snow in the valley is melting and ice ends up taking over since it rains and then freezes at night. Yesterday a friend and I decided to try hiking the M. We made it over the icy trail until  it split for the easy or hard way, about 3/4 the way up. We decided we might be able to make it up, but going down might be more on our butts than feet. Since I already took a slight fall, we did some off trailing to get back down past the worst parts. It was fun, even if it was icy.

A lot of scrubbing...

A lot of scrubbing…

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you my hands are a bit sore from scrubbing rust from the cast iron skillets I found at my grandma’s. I knew you used steel wool and I found a complete little guide to restoring cast iron here. What I didn’t know is that I would be scrubbing for close to an hour. The one flat skillet may not have had rust, but had some sort of build up on it that made it impossible to clean off or keep things from sticking to the pan. I might have to do one more round in the future, but I think it is good enough for now. Hopefully.

Birthday hats and weights

Birthday hats and weights

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I actually wore a birthday hat for my entire bodypump class last Monday. It was the instructors birthday and she brought us hats to wear and tootsie rolls to eat. I was more excited about the tootsie rolls, but since I like her, I wore the hat as requested.

The sleeping giant

The sleeping giant

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you about my trip to Great Falls for work last week. It is a beautiful drive, and I hope this summer The Sexy Master Electrician and I explore the area between Helena and Great Falls, but it is a long drive. Especially driving up and back in one day. At least we had a very productive meeting. Hopefully we won’t have too many more up and back trips in the near future…

