I Made Cauliflower Soup and I LOVE it.

Prepare to be amazed

Prepare to be amazed

So perhaps I should give a tiny bit of background here. I was not really a fan of cauliflower. It’s never been a vegetable I used or purchased. Occasionally I would eat a raw piece off a veggie platter but that’s about it. To completely kill my interest in cooking it, I was at an event and they had some sort or cheesy cauliflower dish that smelled so atrocious and exactly like something I will not mention to spare you all, (it has to do with animals), that I couldn’t believe other people were eating it. The smell made me want to vomit. So cooking cauliflower not high on my list.

But, lately, almost 10 years later, my mom has been doing some cooking with cauliflower as a substitute for carbs and other not-so-healthy-things and The Sexy Master Electrician has made a few things that have been pretty good. None of these have had a smell that has caused the upchuck reaction. After getting too much cauliflower to try it as a rice substitute, I needed to make something else. I was craving soup so I decided to try this Cauliflower Soup with Chrispy Chorizo Breadcrumbs.

IT WAS AMAZING. I was in love with this soup. TSME is sick of me telling him how much I love this soup. I made it again this week and I rarely repeat recipes that quick. It was good the first night, it was good the 3rd night. I didn’t make it with chorizo, I made the mistake of looking at the ingredients and put it back. I picked up a ground pork burger with andouille seasoning instead. I also added some Tony’s seasoning to it. I also added some other herbs, and  I didn’t really measure, so the amounts below are a bit of guess. Either way all an awesome idea. I’m just saying, give it a try.

Andoulille Cauliflower Soup with Pork Breadcrumbs

Make 5 servings  as a main dish

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 medium onion, cut into 1/4-inch dice
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 1/2 tsp  dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 tsp Tony’s Creole seasoning
  • 1 medium heads of cauliflower (3 3/4 pounds), cut into 2-inch florets
  • 3.25 cups chicken stock or low-sodium broth
  • 1/4 cup half and half
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 ounces ground pork, finely chopped
  • 3/4 cup panko
  1. In a large soup pot, melt the butter. Add the diced onion, crushed garlic cloves, thyme rosemary, and oregano. Cook over moderate heat, stirring occasionally, until the onion is softened, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add the cauliflower florets, Tony’s, and chicken stock and bring to a simmer. Cover and cook over moderately low heat until the cauliflower is very tender when pierced with a fork, about 20 minutes.
  3. While the cauliflower cooks, prepare the pork breadcrumbs. In a medium skillet, cook the chopped pork over moderate heat until it is almost crisp, about 3 minutes.
  4. Add the panko and cook, stirring frequently, until the crumbs are crisp, about 5 minutes. Transfer the crumbs to a small bowl.
  5. Once the cauliflower is done, carefully puree it in a blender or food processor in batches until smooth. Pour the soup into the pot and set it over low heat.
  6. Stir in the half and half and season the cauliflower soup with salt and black pepper.
  7. Ladle the soup into bowls. Sprinkle with the breadcrumbs and serve at once, before the bread crumbs get soggy.

Side note: I kept the soup and crumbs separate storing them as leftovers. I also warmed them up individually and sprinkled the crumbs on top like they were fresh.

Enjoy!

