Eggs Benedict with Avocado & Prosciutto

Eggs ben (1)I have decided that I really like Eggs Benedict. It has become my favorite thing to order for breakfast. I finally decided I should try making it. I hadn’t tried before because I was a little afraid of poaching eggs.

Over the holidays I was going to try it at home, but mom has an egg poacher so I didn’t actually have to make them. The Eggs Benedict was still pretty good via machine, even if it over do them a little bit. When I finally decided to make them one morning for The Sexy Master Electrician and I, I did what everyone does, consulted the internet. It was pretty easy, just moves quickly. Do not be afraid of egg poaching and have everything ready.

My recipe is a variation of this recipe, also where I found the video. Since it was not the day after eating a turkey, and TSME does not like Canadian bacon, we used prosciutto instead. We also added avocado, my favorite thing to include on just about anything. And I did not make the English muffins. Do not care that much, that may shock some, but it is true. I really love the quick way they make the hollandaise sauce in the blender. They highly recommend using pasteurized eggs since you do not cook the sauce. It’s quick and delicious.

That’s all I got. Go make some Eggs Benedict.

Eggs Benedict with Avocado & Prosciutto

Makes 2 serving

For hollandaise sauce:

  • 2 large egg yolks, see note above
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 heaping teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  1. Using a blender, puree the egg yolks together for a few seconds.
  2. Slowly pour in the melted butter, just a little at a time, and turn on the blender (puree setting) and puree for about 10 seconds. Turn off the blender and pour in a little more melted butter and puree again. Repeat until all of the melted butter has been incorporated.
  3. Add in the lemon juice, Dijon mustard and salt and puree again for about 8 to 10 seconds.
  4. Taste and adjust any seasoning as needed, puree again and set aside.

For eggs benedict:

  • 4 cups water
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 4 eggs, cracked open with whole eggs in individual cups
  • 2 English muffins, split and toasted
  • 1/2 avocado, mashed
  • 4-6 slices of prosciutto
  • Red pepper flakes, optional
  1. Using a big pot or large, deep saucepan, heat the water over medium-high heat. As the water begins to heat and you see bubbles forming, add the vinegar and stir with a wooden spoon. Eggs ben (2)
  2. After you have reached a slow boil, turn the heat to medium-low and, using your wooden spoon, make a whirlpool in the center with the water and slowly add your eggs, one at a time, into the whirlpool.
  3. The egg whites should wrap around the yolks. Repeat until all of the eggs are in the pot. Eggs ben (3)
  4. Reduce the heat to a low simmer and let cook for another 4 minutes.
  5. When your egg whites have set and the yolks are still soft, using a slotted spoon, remove each poached egg onto a plate and get ready for assembly.
  6. While waiting for your water boil or eggs to cook, toast your English muffins.
  7. Spread half of the avocado on each muffin and split the prosciutto between the two.  Eggs ben (4)Place two poached eggs on each sandwich and pour your hollandaise sauce over each sandwich. Season with red pepper flakes if desired.

Enjoy!

Eggs ben (5)

 

