Lava Lake

Untitled

If you hadn’t noticed, it is perfect hiking weather here in Montana. I drug my friend R, outside with me one Sunday to check off an new hike, Lava Lake. So many people have told me about this hike, I just never got to it for some reason. Now I need to add it to the easy to get to, easy to do, do it more often list.

Untitled

It’s three miles long one way with a gradual climb 1600 feet to the lake. You really don’t notice the climb much at all, at least if you are in some sort of shape anyway. Most of the time you are shaded by trees and follow a little stream that you cross a time or two. If you happen to pry your eyes from where your next step is, there are some awesome views along the way through the valley.

Untitled

A few huge boulders frame the lake when you get to the top. All round the side of the lake are large rock scree fields or dense trees. We continued along the west side of the lake and scrambled along util we found a good spot to hang out on the rocks. Some people were fishing. Some people were camping. It was beautiful. Go check it out.
Untitled

 

