Sunday Afternoon Coffee [forty-nine]

Untitled

If were having coffee this afternoon, it would be at Hylite Lake, where I am currently on a hike to. I’ve never been up here, I hear it’s spectacular. I’ll share photos later.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you how happy it makes me to have Brooklyn friends in Bozeman. E & S are road tripping across the country to Portland where they are planning to move. They made it to Music on Main, some of the Sweet Pea Festival and a fun night with the Max at the R Bar. They also worked hard trying to get me to move to Portland. We shall see. We shall see.UntitledThe Max

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would ask you if you had seen this article about trees with email addresses. I love this idea. I would write a letter to my favorite hidden climbing tree at home.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, we would talk about the opening party for the Moonlight Golf Clubhouse this week. My office has been working on this project for a little over a year and it is finally completed. The celebrated with food trucks, an open bar and O.A.R. preforming in the middle of the course. It was rainy at first but the sky cleared and it was an awesome night. I forgot how many of O.A.R.’s song I know. It was a definite designer perk!UntitledEdge of the clubhouse, Beehive Basin, the stage and Lone Peak in the twilight.Untitled

If we were having coffee this afternoon, we would talk about Trainwreck. It was hilarious and I would almost go see it again. While I’m pretty sure I’m not a full on trainwreck, there are definitely moments.

Which would lead us to discussing our current reading selections. My list has become an interesting (somewhat) accidental lesson in happiness and choices. A couple months ago, a friend lent me A Map of Enough by Molly Mae because she thought I could relate. I was/am faltering a bit about what it is I am doing, choices made, when I thought those days were behind me. And I don’t seem to be the only person I know at this stage. Two lines that stick out from the book are: “We were steeped in choices. We might go crazy with the options. We were intoxicated by what could be.” and “It takes courage to love one person, one anything. This was the man I would walk through the mess of life with. It was a vertical choice made long ago by me, by us, one of the few choices that came for me with no doubt.” Then I borrowed Lena Dunham’s Not That Kind of Girl.  Great stories, some totally relatable, some not so much, about making decisions, life, love etc. Another friend is reading Happiness Pursuit, which I will probably read in the near future. In our discussions about the book, we have decided I am a bitchy closet optimist, but I would never say that out loud. Finally, in discussion the happiness something with my coworker, she suggested I read The Geography of Bliss by Eric Weiner. It is aptly subtitled “One Grumps Search for the Happiest Places in the World” and I am currently in the middle of it. One line that has stuck with me so far is: “Maybe this is happiness: not feeling like you should be elsewhere, doing something else, being something else.” Then in an Elle article this week I read this line: “She’s trying to get at the idea that being in love ‘is not a feeling, it’s a choice. My point is, to choose someone is very scary. It sometimes means hurting other people, and it means taking a chance.'” The last two books are loaded with scientific research and studies which are fascinating to me. Much of what I’ve read talks about or comes back to this idea of choice. I semi agree with the Elle quote. I think we have the choice of deciding how far we want to go with a person, but there must be an emotional attraction as well, otherwise why would you want to choose that person to begin with? If there is not some emotional pull to a place or job, is it somewhere you really want to be or something you really want to do? Part of me feels like I am not the one who actually needed to read these, but the person who threw me into this turmoil of spinning. I continually read lines that I want to send to them and some times think about just making a nice little package of books and anonymously dropping it off. I will do neither of these things. I am still unsure of what I am doing. Still, I think reading these stories, studies, etc. helps me in the sense that perhaps I am not crazy, maybe I need to not be afraid of making a choice, taking a chance. You can change your mind. They have also helped me understand that person just a little bit more, (or made me even more frustrated with them), even if it is unlikely I will ever agree with their decision.

Untitled

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I went to Tahoe last weekend and it was amazing. There will be more on the trip later, but I spent the majority of the time on a paddle board.  We alternated between moving along the lake or napping. It was amazing. I should have stayed just a little bit longer.
Untitled

 

 

 

