6 Hours in Seattle

Untitled
On my way home from San Francisco, I realized that my friends Kurt and Melissa were going to be in Seattle. Making my layover happen is Seattle was something I could easily do. So I booked my ticket to have a seven hour break between  flights and went in to the city to hang out with my friends for an afternoon.
P7198704The first of a couple Jenn-is-being-weird-in-pics-and-kurt-caught-it images in this post, with Melissa! Untitled First, can I just take a moment to comment on how lovely the flight from San Francisco to Seattle is? I had been on this flight before, so I made sure I had a window seat on the correct side of the plane to see the the coast. You pass so many beautiful peaks as you go, including Mount St Helens, Mount Hood and Mount Rainier. It’s beautiful. If you like that kind of thing anyway. Untitled
We met at Pike Place Market since it seemed the easiest. I arrived in the city a bit before them. It was hot, like 90 plus degrees hot, so I found a cute little bar to have a drink and read while I waited. When they arrived we went down to the Bayview Cafe for delicious crab cake burgers before heading out into the heat to explore.

Untitled

I had not been to Seattle since college, also known as a long time ago. I’d been there a couple times then, so I have seen the majority of tourist things and architectural buildings like the public library, but there is always something new. First stop was the pier and the giant Ferris wheel. We opted out of riding it, the line was too long, but the views along it were lovely and it is huge. UntitledIt was hot, so our next stop was a new distillery called Copperworks. They are just starting out, so we we only able to sample the gin, but I’m sure the whiskeys will be great too. The small samples were not quite enough so we went up through gum ally to the Alibi Room for a drink to cool down before continuing.
Untitled

Untitled
We discussed things we wanted to see with our remaining hours while sipping our beverages and landed on the Olympic Park. I had been wanting to see it since it was constructed and it wasn’t too far from where we were so we headed over.  It was a lovely place. As well designed as it appeared in all the pictures. The sculptures in the park were amazing as well. This was one of my favorite.
P7198721Untitled
Untitled
P7198772I don’t know what we are talking about, but the series of these was clear that I was yammering on and Melissa was finally like, ‘yeah sure, I get it.’

After the park we were over the heat again and headed to the Space Needle. We asked if we could go up for a drink, not to dine, but there was a wait too long, so we just went to a nearby cafe for one last drink and conversation before I had to head back to the airport. Untitled

It was so good to see the two of them and I can’t wait to see them again in a couple weeks! It’s amazing how much you can see in an afternoon, but I should go back to Seattle and spend a bit more time there again. It’s a good city.

 

One thought on “6 Hours in Seattle

Comments are closed.