Sunday Afternoon Coffee [fifty-two]

Sunday post

If we were having coffee this afternoon, it would be the perfect day for it. Fall has finally found us in Montana and it has been cold and rainy most of the week. The first fall trip to Norris happened last Sunday. I went on a hike that morning and the hot springs were wonderful that evening, even though it was a bit warm out. We were hoping to see the eclipse and blood moon, but clouds blocked it the whole time. I am resisting the fall and turning on my heat, but boots and sweaters are out.

If we were having coffee we would talk about homecoming last weekend. I helped Chels with the parade on Saturday morning. Who knew it took so much to get people to line up? And how much they do not like to be told they need to move around a bit. In the afternoon, we won the game easily, to many people surprise. It was so hot. It felt like August, not almost October. We were dripping sweat, but we made it through. Untitled
the most random participant: a mobile port-a-potty and turds…
Untitled Untitled Untitled

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you how awesome it was to see my old friend Marc while he was in town with his wife. We figured out that we had not actually seen each other in nine years. Nine. That’s a bit crazy. This was the first time I was meeting his wife! We decided we will try to do better about staying in touch from here on out.

MV5BMTQ1MzE4MTE3OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTcyNDM3NTE@._V1__SX1617_SY873_ via
If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would ask you if you have seen Amy. It’s a documentary on Amy Winehouse that is excellent and terribly sad. There is a lot of home video footage from when she was young  and just starting. There is also a lot of jumpy paparazzi video that made me feel rather motion sick by the end of it. Still it was a great film and you should see it if you haven’t yet.

Blitzed trapper at faultline north
If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you about the show I went at Faultline North.  It’s a newer music venue in town and Blitzen Trapper was playing Wednesday night. The band was good. The opener, The Domestics, were okay. Not my favorite, but others really liked them. The venue was not really designed, it doesn’t seem, for shows acoustically and it’s cash only. They have do have a bar onsite, but also cash only. The band may have been worth the ticket price, but the venue was not. Still I like the size of it and it was clean, so I’ll probably end up back there again, just pay more attention to the cost.

Sunday post
If we were having coffee this afternoon, we would talk about the excellent show by Rabbit Wilde at the Sacajewea Bar in Three Forks. They were so much fun. We were dancing around the entire night and had a great time. There were several older couples who were waltzing and jitterbugging too, which made me want to take lessons. It was amazing to watch. I would love to see them again and I will now add them to my spotify.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, we would talk about the opening of the Westin Element hotel in town. They had a grand opening with okay wine and food bites. It’s a lovely modern space inside, but the exterior is typical boring construction. The rooms are nice, I would stay there, especially since it is right downtown. Otherwise, it was nothing to exciting or special. Surprise? Not really. It was fun to have a random event to go to after work though.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would make you watch this video. I agree with him on a few and am guilty of a few. And I agree, Ice cream is an emergency!

