Sacagawea Peak

Sac peak

If you haven’t noticed, I tried to get in as many hikes as possible this summer. The weather has stayed nice so long this year, that I’ve had a chance to get a couple more in before it turns bad. At the end of September C and I went up to Sacagawea Peak, the tallest in the Bridgers at 9665 feet.  The hike is just shy of 6 miles round trip and gains 2000 feet, (For the record, websites say its a 4+ mile hike. I tracked us only going down and it had us at 2.8 miles, so not really sure what the deal is…)  Who doesn’t like to be on top of the world?

Sac peak

The hike starts at Fairy Lake. You climb up through the trees for a bit before you begin switching back and forth through the basin to a  small saddle where the trail splits and you can head west down in into Gallatin Valley or up to the peak. The switch backs can be pretty tedious at times and the path is pretty narrow. I maybe slipped on the loose rocks on the way down once…

Sac peak
From the saddle
Sac peak
Scrambling to the top

The last bit of the hike is  a little bit of a scramble over hard rocks and the wind was blowing once we reach the saddle, but it’t not really that difficult of a hike. You can keep going along the ridge line all the way to the M, only 21 more miles away. (This is something I want to do sometime, just need to get a crew to go!)
Sac peak
See the trail?

Sac peak
Those white spots are mountain goats!

On the way down we spotted the elusive mountain goats that are typically hanging out on the peak. Maybe they were not into the wind. I wasn’t paying attention to when we started, but it took somewhere between 1.5 and 2 hours to get up and an hour to get down. It was a great way to spend a Sunday morning and I wish I would have done it earlier this year. If the road up to Fairy Lake wasn’t so rough, I would do it frequently. We’ll see what next summer brings!
Sac peak

