Sunday Afternoon Coffee [Fifty-seven]

Untitled
If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that the new job is going well. Even though I have had a cold and have not had much of a voice for the first two weeks. It is keeping me very busy and I like it so far. My main project is a middle school renovation and expansion in Bozeman. I am learning a new cad program, Revit, that I had been meaning to learn for years, but never really needed to, so hadn’t yet. I am still adjusting to the whole 8 am thing. I hope it doesn’t take much longer to get on board. And my coworkers are great, even if the boys out number us 2 to 4.

Untitled
If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would also tell you about the company holiday party last weekend. We went to Billings for it and stayed over night at the Northern Hotel. That day happened to be the peak of my voicelessness, so that part was not so fun. I felt bad meeting people for the first time, and not being able to really talk. I picked a great gift at the exchange before dinner. Who doesn’t want a poop emoji pillow and some toilet paper? Dinner was at the Bistecca at the Granary. It was delicious and so were the hot toddies. We left after midnight due to my cold but the party was just really getting going. I can’t wait for the next company outing and hopefully I won’t be sick.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you it was so great to catch up with some collage friends who live in Billings. We meet for brunch at the Fieldhouse last Sunday morning. They are only two hours away, but we rarely see each other. Normally, I’m running home and not taking the time to stop and their families are in Great Falls, so they don’t end up in Bozeman often.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, there is a good chance it is your birthday. Last night we celebrated four birthdays that are one day after another and I have several other friends with December birthdays. Is there something about July people getting along with December people? Happy Birthday to all of you December people!

Untitled
Untitled
If we were having coffee this morning, I would tell you about the Scheels in Billings. It is massive. There is a ferris wheel and for some reason there are several president’s statues around the place. Some move and talk. You can pick out a hunting knife while listening to the Gettysburg Address. Definitely my style… Although I did get a yoga mat and headphones.

Untitled
My Christmas “Tree”
If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would say “Happy Holidays!” I should be heading to South Dakota Tuesday night after work or Wednesday morning to spend Christmas with the family. I hope it’s as white there as it is here. Last week we got over 24″ in two or three days. It’s time to start thinking about cross country skiing again!

 

