Cheesy Jalapeno Hummus

So as I mentioned, I had do something with the food that was in the cans used to make K’s mini cakes.  The two cans of pears I tossed in the blender to make pear sauce.   Why I think this is better than just eating the halves, I don’t know, but I do.  I couldn’t just leave all four cans of chickpeas in Tupperware in the fridge, so I decided to use two of them before I even got started on the cakes.  Making hummus seemed like the most obvious choice and Eat, Live, Run recently posted a recipe for Cheddar Jalapeno Hummus.  Sounded like a good idea to me.

I sort of winged this recipe, using the same ingredients, sort of, but not really measuring.  I think it could use at least one more jalapeno, maybe even two.  It just wasn’t spicy enough for me.  I added a bit of cayenne pepper to the mix and extra cumin since I didn’t have any extra jalapenos.  I also didn’t feel like buying more cheese and used up the remaining pre-shredded four cheese blend hiding in the fridge, not sure if this made a difference or not.  All in all, it was pretty tasty and made a ton.  I took some to work to help and there is still some left.  I need to get an actual food processor, cause as great as the neighbors blender is, it still left some chunks here and there.  Either way, I could still definitely whip this up in 15 minutes if I’m having a big party.

Cheesy Jalapeno Hummus

Probably serves 30

  • 2 1lb- 13 oz cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 jalapeno pepper, chopped and seeds removed
  • 1 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 8 tbsp warm water
  • 4 tsp salt
  • 4 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp ground cayenne pepper
  • 3 cups shredded four cheese blend
  1. Combine the chickpeas, jalapeno pepper, olive oil, water, cumin and salt in a vita-mix or food processor.  Process until smooth.
  2. Add the cheese and cumin and process again until everything is well combined.

Enjoy!