Indian Spice Turkey Burgers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Guys, this may be the best turkey burger yet. Seriously. Jenna at Eat live Run posted up her Indian Spiced Chicken Burgers in late February and I was making them a week later.  I mixed them up on a Sunday night and I had one for dinner every night that week and I loved each and every one.  It was nice to have something to cook up quick when I got home late instead of ramen or oatmeal. I know you’re probably thinking how hard can it be to mix this up? Not that hard, but there is still prep time and getting things down and cleaning them after. So there.  I really don’t put much effort in on nights I get home after nine or I stop and pick up pizza or something on the way home. I like to think this is healthier, although I have no idea.

As you can guess I substituted ground chicken for turkey and I was going to use dry instead of fresh cilantro, because you buy so much and use so little, but I forgot it, so these are sans cilantro. ELR serves it with ketchup and pickles, which sounds absolutely horrible to me. I had it with a 1/4 of fresh avocado. I love avocado! When that was gone, I tried some cheese melted on top, not so good. I would avoid it, maybe try them with the ketchup, definitely with the avocado.  

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Indian Spiced Turkey Burgers

makes 4 large burgers or 6 regular size burgers

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and minced
  • 1 inch knob fresh ginger
  • 1/4 of a large yellow onion,
  • 3 tsp garam masala
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/3 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • buns and fresh avocado for serving
  1. Place the seeded jalapeno,ginger and onion in the bowl of a food processor and pulse till finely minced.  
  2. In a medium bowl mix the ground Turkey, onion mixture, egg, panko, salt and garam masala until well combined.
  3. Heat a nonstick skillet over medium high heat on the stove. Form patties out of the meat mixture and place in the skillet. Cook for about 6 minutes per side, or until juices run clear.
  4. Serve chicken burgers on buns with 1/4 sliced or mashed avocado.

Enjoy!