Kale Salad

Bet you’re surprised to see ‘kale‘ pop up on this blog again so quick.  I am.  But when Jenna at Eat, Live, Run posted up this Kale Detox Salad with Orange and Avocado, I knew I need to try it.  Like I mentioned before, I heard kale was not the best in salad form, but this was great.  It was a bit chewy, but it was fine.  The simple dressing of orange juice and olive oil with a bit of salt and pepper is perfect.  I basically just tossed this together after looking at the ingredient list, so the recipe below is more approximate numbers, but I am pretty sure it would be hard to mess up anyway.  I should have enough dressing to last me the week, (according to Jenna it will last that long in the fridge) and I cut up the rest of the orange to toss the salad together quickly for my lunches the rest of the week, (I tossed this together Monday night).   Give it a try, I’m pretty sure you will love it.

Kale Salad 

Serves 1

  • 2 to 3 cups of washed and roughly chopped or torn kale
  • 2 juicy oranges
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 avocado, in 1/2 cubes
  • 2 tbsp sliced almonds
  • pinch of sea salt
  • pinch of black pepper
  1. First, make the dressing. Combine the juice of one orange with the olive oil, pinch of sea salt and pepper.  Shake or stir until very well combined.  Set aside.
  2. For the salad, peel and divide the sections of the orange, then cut the sections into 4 pieces.  Toss about a half a cup of oranges with the kale, almonds, and avocado.  (Use the rest of the orange for future salads).
  3. Toss 3 or 4 tablespoons of the dressing into the salad, mix and enjoy!